Skip to content

If something doesn’t work, just like in your classroom teaching, adjust and go back or move on. Remember that mistakes lead to learning. Sometimes the best resources designed are those refined through mistakes. Be honest with yourself, your colleagues and your students. We all are learning. Ask for feedback and reach out to your colleagues and tech team for support. 

TOOLS FOR REACHING OUT TO COLLEAGUES AND SUPPORT PERSONNEL
CONTACT INFORMATION for CANVAS Support (By School Location)
Deanna Taylor  801-567-8773 • dtaylor@jordandistrict.org
Bastian, Blackridge, Daybreak, Elk Meadows, Falcon Ridge, Fox Hollow, Herriman, Jordan Ridge, Midas Creek, Oakcrest, Riverside, Riverton, Rosamond, Silver Crest, South Jordan, Terra Linda
Bonnie Muir • 801-567-8726 • bonnie.muir@jordandistrict.org
Bluffdale, Butterfield Canyon, Columbia, Copper Canyon, Foothills, Hayden Peak, Heartland, Majestic, Monte Vista, Mountain Shadows, Oquirrh, Rose Creek, Welby, West Jordan, Westland, Westvale
Ross Menlove • 801-567-8192 • ross.menlove@jordandistrict.org
Jordan Hills, Mountain Point, Ridge View, Southland
Ross Rogers • 801-567-8759 • ross.rogers@jordandistrict.org
Eastlake, Golden Fields
Nancy Lagerberg • 801-567-8774 • nancy.lagerberg@jordandistrict.org
Copper Hills High, JATC North, Joel P. Jensen, South Valley, Sunset Ridge Middle, West Hills Middle, West Jordan High, West Jordan Middle
Ross Rogers • 801-567-8759  ross.rogers@jordandistrict.org
Bingham High, Copper Mountain Middle, Elk Ridge Middle, Herriman High, Mountain Creek Middle, South Jordan Middle, Valley High, River’s Edge
Beth Lewis • 801-567-8151 elizabeth.lewis@jordandistrict.org
Fort Herriman Middle, JATC South, Kari Sue Hamilton, Mountain Ridge High, Oquirrh Hills Middle, Riverton High, South Hills Middle

 

CONTACT INFORMATION  for INSTRUCTIONAL DESIGN Support
General Instructional Design

Michelle Truman 801-567-8087 702-468-4162 cell

michelle.truman@jordandistrict.org

Online Courses

Ammon Wiemers 801-567-8143  ammon.wiemers@jordandistrict.org

CONTACT INFORMATION  for CONTENT-SPECIFIC Support
Elementary Language Arts

Michelle Lovell 801-567-8087 michelle.lovell@jordandistrict.org

Mandy Thurman 801-567-8119 mandy.thurman@jordandistrict.org

Secondary Language Arts

Joshua Brothers 801-567-8152 joshua.brothers@jordandistrict.org

Elementary Math K-5

Melissa Garber 801-567-8170 melissa.garber@jordandistrict.org

MIddle School Math 6-9   

Amy Kinder 801-567-8469 

amy.kinder@jordandistrict.org 

HIgh School Math 10-12

Noelani Ioane 801-567-8349 noelani.ioane@jordandistrict.org

Elementary Science

Rachael Coleman 801-567- 8168 rachael.coleman@jordandistrict.org

Paul Nance 801-567-8175

paul.nance@jordandistrict.org

Secondary Science/STEM

Jane Harward  801-567-8169

jane.harward@jordandistrict.org

Kami Taylor 801-567-8621

kami.taylor@jordandistrict.org

Elementary Social Studies

Pam Su’a  801-567-8320

pamela.sua@jordandistrict.org

Secondary Social Studies

Pam Su’a  801-567-8320

pamela.sua@jordandistrict.org

Elementary FIne Arts

Linda Gold  801-567-8408

linda.gold@jordandistrict.org

Secondary Fine Arts

Norm Emerson  801-567-8364

norman.emerson@jordandistrict.org

Elementary ELs 

Tammy Fulmer 801-567-8306  | Krista Mecham 801-567-8321

Secondary ELs

Shasta Burton 801-567-8427  | Sheri Sample 801-567-8307 

Elementary Library Media  Denise Anderson 801-567-8293  |

Laura Boyd 801-253-1034  | Deanna Higham 801-254-8000

Secondary Library Media 

See school Librarians

Dual Language Immersion

Michele Daly 801-567-8129  | Leticia Thomas 801-567-8135

DLI Bridge Program and World Languages

Pam Su’a  801-567-8320

pamela.sua@jordandistrict.org

Differentiated Instruction (GT)

Rebecca Smith  801-567-8368 | Taryn Cox 801-567-8468

CONTACT INFORMATION for GENERAL INSTRUCTIONAL Support
Judy Jackman 801-567-8171  | Patty Bennett 801-567-8123  | Amy Wood 801-567-8136 | Debbie Fisher  801-567-8134

Rebecca Lee 801-567-8369  | Ben Jameson 801-567-8243  | Chris Richards-Khong 801-567-8158  | Shelley Nordick 801-567-8122

CONTACT INFORMATION for TEACHING & LEARNING Administrative Assistants
Amanda Hansen 801-567-8319  | Lorraine Jolley 801-567-8366  | Camille Kartchner 801-567-8138  | Cindy Stevenson 801-567-8161 | Michelle Williams 801-567-8365  | Chris Westra

Just as in traditional classroom settings, online learning takes planning. The most effective instructional plans start with what you want your students to know and to learn. In an online environment, it is essential for teachers to help students clearly know what to expect each day by explaining what they will be learning.  

All assignments and resources should be kept in one place and daily procedures should be consistent. 

Present instruction in chunks with simple, clear instructions and examples. Try to find ways to add something “normal” in your instruction. If students use Lexia in class, have them use Lexia as part of their daily online routine. Routine and structure will help students more easily construct meaning. Remember to be overly clear and overly simple. Provide a general schedule that is not time-bound! Students cannot be expected to follow a precise time schedule.

How can you do this?

  • Follow the 10-Lesson Template provided by the Digital Teaching & Learning Team.
  • Provide consistent and timely feedback to students. Check in with students frequently. Respond to assignments with voice or video whenever possible.  Approach all assignments and student expectations with flexibility
  • Use tools that provide instant feedback to students.
  • Add reminders in your schedule for students to spend the appropriate amount of time on school-based software tools

 

 

TOOLS FOR PROVIDING CLARITY IN INSTRUCTIONS AND ROUTINES

Canvas Videos Feature

Canvas has a built-in video recorder  that can be accessed in any text field. That means teachers can record themselves and the recording is automatically embedded in the text.

 

 

 

 

Screencastify

Screencastify is an online tool that allows users to record everything on the screen. Teachers can use this tool to demonstrate how to use online resources. The program allows teachers to record themselves as well. (Or both at the same time.) This is a program that requires a teacher account and is being offered for free.

 

ThinkCentral, Journey, Lexia, iReady, Imagine Learning, 

Use programs that are part of students’ traditional classroom schedule. Many vendors have extended licensing options. (Instructions)

 Remember to provide instructions for parents. 

Remote Learning with Lexia

Phonemic Awareness Videos 

NEW! Google MEET

Google MEET is a tool that allows individuals to meet virtually. Google MEET is simple to use and can include up to 100 participants. 

Follow the link for information on how to implement MEET.

 

 

 

 

<<Instructional Guideline #1

Instructional Guideline #3>>